The NHL season is winding down, and there are already several candidates for regular season awards.

The Hart Memorial Trophy, originally known as the Hart Trophy, is awarded annually to the “player judged most valuable to his team” in the National Hockey League (NHL).┬áIn today’s post, we’re going to review the goalies who have won the Hart Trophy in the past, and what’s helped them get to where they are today:

Jacques Plante

Jacques Plante played for the Montreal Canadiens during the 1961-1962 season. Born in Mont Carmel, Quebec, Plante was also the winner of the Harry “Hap” Holmes Memorial Trophy and the Vezina Trophy for the 1957-1958 season. He was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1978 and elected to Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame in 1981.

Dominik Hasek

Dominik Hasek is a two-time Hart Trophy award winner. He took home the honor in both the 1996-1997 season and the 1997-1998 season, during which he played on the Buffalo Sabers.

Dominik was named the top goaltender on the Czechoslovakian National Team in 1986 and 1987, and stands out as the only goaltender to be named All-Star World Championship goaltender three years in a row.

He is also the winner of The Hockey News Goaltender of the Year during the 1993-1994 season, the Lester B. Pearson Trophy and the Vezina Trophy during the 1998-1999 season. He was inducted into the National Hockey League Hall of Fame on November 17, 2014.

Jose Theodore

Jose Theodore received the Hart Trophy during the 2001-2002 season, during which he played for the Montreal Canadiens. Born in Laval, Quebec, Theodore was named to the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League All-Star Second Team in the 1994-1995 season, and again during the 1995-1996 season.

He was also named Best Goaltender at the World Junior Championships in 1996 and to the World Junior Championships All-Star Team in 1996. He won the Vezina Trophy during the 2001-2002 season and was chosen as the Eastern Conference reserve, National Hockey League All-Star Game, on February 8, 2004.

Carey Price

Carey Price won the Hart Trophy Award during the 2014-2015 season when he was playing with the Montreal Canadiens. Born in Vancouver, B.C., Price was a member of the gold-medal winning Canadian team during the IIHF World U20 Championships in the 2006-07 season. He also won the Ted Lindsay Award and the Vezina Trophy during the 2014-15 season.

Leave a Response

Please be patient with us as we are shiny and new and still growing our content and media. Stay in touch with on Facebook and other social media platforms for daily updates.

Sign Up for Our Mailing List