On March 17, 2018, the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is set to be handed out. The ceremony will take place at the McNamara Alumni Center, which is on the University of Minnesota campus.

The USA Hockey Foundation is the entity responsible for presenting this award to the top players that are nominated by coaches out of the women’s ice hockey NCAA Division I.

Selection Criteria for the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award

The selection criteria for this award includes factors such as sportsmanship, superior team and individual skills, personal character, performance in stressful situations, a love for hockey, and overall competitiveness. Consideration is also given to civic involvement and academic achievements.

The Top 10 Finalists for 2018

For 2018, the top 10 finalists include the following players:

  1. Daryl Watts of Boston College — Freshman forward
  2. Shea Tiley of Clarkson University — Senior goaltender
  3. Toni Ann Miano of Boston College — Senior defender
  4. Caitrin Lonergan of Boston College — Sophomore forward
  5. Savannah Harmon of Clarkson University — Senior defender
  6. Loren Gabel of Clarkson University — Junior forward
  7. Kristen Campbell of University of Wisconsin — Sophomore goaltender
  8. Sydney Baldwin of Clarkson University — Senior defender
  9. Brittany Howard of Robert Morris University — Senior forward
  10. Victoria Bach of Boston University — Senior forward

The finalists for the award were announced on March 1, 2018.

Understanding the Selection Process

The selection process began in early March. This is when the coaches for the women’s hockey NCAA Division 1 teams were asked for nominations. Players who received a nomination from several coaches were then placed on the ballot. Once complete, the ballot was sent to all the coaches, who were responsible for voting to determine the top 10 finalists. The ballots were tabulated by PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP, an independent accounting firm.

One the top 10 list, which is above, there are six different schools represented, including three finalists for both Clarkson University and Boston College. Also, the top 10 list includes two goaltenders, three defensemen and five forwards, as well as one freshman and junior, two sophomores, and six seniors.

The Final Selection

The final selection of the top three players, which will include the recipient of the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award for 2018, is going to be selected by a 13 percent committee, which is made up of coaches, print and broadcast media members, and representatives of USA Hockey.

Leave a Response

Please be patient with us as we are shiny and new and still growing our content and media. Stay in touch with MyHockeyNation.com on Facebook and other social media platforms for daily updates.

Sign Up for Our Mailing List