The 2018 NCAA Women’s Frozen Four takes place tonight at the Ridder Arena in Minneapolis, Minnesota with the ┬áchampion to be crowned on the 18th. The field of eight championship tourney started earlier this month – with on-campus sites hosting the opening round. The four surviving teams have moved on to the Frozen Four semis as mentioned above; Clarkson versus Ohio State and then Wisconsin versus Colgate.

After the women truly outshined the men at this year’s Olympics, hockey fans have geared up for this exciting NCAA showdown. The preliminary rounds, quarterfinals, semifinals and finals are all under the governance of the National Collegiate Women’s Ice Hockey Committee. This is also the 18th National Collegiate Women’s Hockey Ice Hockey Championship. The Frozen Four was won by Clarkson last year when they shut out Wisconsin 3-0. Here are some highlights from last year’s event.

Participating Teams

Four conferences were given automatic bids for the 2018 tourney. The remaining four teams were selected at-large for the event. The automatic qualifying conferences are:

  • Mercyhurst University – College Hockey America
  • Clarkson University (2017 Frozen Four Defending Champions) – ECAC Hockey
  • Northeastern University – Hockey East Association
  • University of Minnesota – Twin Cities – Western Collegiate Hockey Association

At-large Teams

  • Boston College
  • Colgate University
  • The Ohio State University
  • University of Wisconsin- Madison

Top Seeds

As the defending champions, Clarkson received the No. 1 seed and defeated Mercyhurst (3-1) . The No. 2 seed, Wisconsin then overwhelmed Minnesota by 4-0 . Colgate (No. 3 seed) took care of Northeastern (3-1), while Boston College (the No. 4 seed), fell to Ohio State (0-2).

NCAA Women’s Hockey Tournament History

The NCAA Women’s Ice Hockey Championship began in 2001. However, several universities and colleges already had well-established women’s teams in the early 1970s. The Minnesota Golden Gophers have won the most NCAA Women’s Ice Hockey Championships with six. The Clarkson Golden Knights are the current champions, and won a previous tourney as well. It is also important to note that — just like in years past — the 2018 series will be a single-elimination tournament.

For more information on the National Collegiate Women’s Ice Hockey Tournament, simply visit All games will also be shown live on the Big Ten Network.

Leave a Response

Please be patient with us as we are shiny and new and still growing our content and media. Stay in touch with on Facebook and other social media platforms for daily updates.

Sign Up for Our Mailing List